Wednesday, 7 April 2010



Sunday 18 April 2010
17:30 - 21:30
The Broadway Theatre
Broadway, Barking IG11 7LS

Tickets £5 (£3 concession)
Box Office: 020 8507 5607

We have guest performances from fantastic singer/songwriters Aruba Red and Maverick Sabre, Limitless Dance (East London Dance Youth Company), SLAM Poetry Champions Aisling Fahey and Deanna Rodger. Music from DJ Joe Grime.

SILENCE IS NOT GOLDEN is a creative response to the forthcoming election and the big issues of the day, using spoken word poetry, music, theatre and dance to create an exciting evening of collaborations and conversations between artists and activists, youth ministers and youth workers, campaigners and councilors, audience and performer, younger and older.

SILENCE IS NOT GOLDEN aims to get to the heart of the issues that matter to the young people in Barking & Dagenham, those too young to make their voices heard at the ballot box on May 6th.

Focused around a diverse group of 14 young people (The Broadway Youth Board) aged 11-18, who have been participating in weekly workshops at The Broadway, directed by Dean Atta, and collaborating with the hard-hitting all female spoken word collective Words In Motion and highly acclaimed Rhymes Won't Wait collective.

In a 3-way collaboration, these groups have created spoken word and theatre pieces dealing with racism, the criminal justice system, fair trade, boarder control, human trafficking, domestic violence, child abuse and many other issues that we too often stay silent about.

The evening will be in 4 sections of performance with 4 corresponding conversations chaired by Dean Atta, Sabrina Mahfouz and The Broadway Youth Board members, who will be coming out into the audience with roaming microphones – allowing you to have your say!

After the show please stay for networking in the foyer and Words In Motion open mic hosted by Shan Amaru.

Special guests confirmed as attending:

* Aissetou N'gom (Presenter & Cross-Platform Producer)
* Alex Delaney (British Youth Council)
* Alys Zaerin (Unite Against Fascism)
* Dwain Lucktung (Ctrl.Alt.Shift)
* Gary Trowsdale (Spirit of London Awards)
* Josh Hollands (Love Music Hate Racism)
* Lee Jasper (Operation Black Vote)
* Mariam Sheikh (National Council for Voluntary Youth Services)
* Naomi Jane (Channel 4 Education Advisory Board)
* Rebecca Palmer (GLA Children and Young People's Unit)
* Richard Taylor (Damilola Taylor Trust)
* Rob Berkley (Runnymede Trust)
* Sean McDermott (Barking and Dagenham Youth Forum)
* Simon Woolley (Operation Black Vote)

Facebook Event Page:


Post a Comment